Following reports of a newly-detected variant of the SARS-CoV-2 spreading in the United Kingdom (UK), the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) resolved to recommend restrictions on inbound travel from the UK beginning 24 December until 31 December 2020. The measure also seeks to curb the anticipated increase in COVID-19 cases during the holiday season.


With the President’s approval and upon the signing of IATF-EID Resolution No. 90 dated 22 December 2020, all flights from the United Kingdom shall be temporarily suspended and all passengers coming from or transiting through the UK, including those with history of travel to the UK within 14 days prior to arrival to the Philippines are temporarily restricted from entering the country.


Passengers coming from or with travel history from the UK who are already in transit to the country, provided that they arrive before 12:01 AM of 24 December 2020, shall not be subject to the restriction, but shall be required to undergo mandatory completion of the 14-day quarantine at the Athlete’s Village in New Clark City regardless of RT-PCR test results.


Outbound passengers shall be allowed to travel to the UK provided that they adhere to the existing exit protocols of the IATF-EID currently being implemented by the Bureau of Immigration.