Quezon City – Former heads of the Department of Health expressed their support for a united health sector under the leadership of Secretary Teodoro J. Herbosa.

The Department of Health (DOH) culminated its week-long celebration of its 125th Founding Anniversary through a celebration of unity and sectoral stability highlighted by the “Secretaries Night”. Former health secretaries and officers-in-charge graced the event on June 23, 2023, at Seda Vertis North Hotel.

In attendance were former OIC Dr. Maria Rosario Singh-Vergeire, former Secretaries Enrique Ona, Esperanza Cabral, Jaime Galvez-Tan, and Paulyn Jean Rossell Ubial threw their all-out support to the seated Health Secretary. The former heads of the DOH served under the Marcos Jr., Aquino III, Macapagal-Arroyo, Ramos, and Duterte administrations, respectively.

Herbosa remarked that the DOH would not be where it is today without the hard work of former secretaries before him who have all shared their expertise to achieve a better life for all Filipinos. The health chief also underscored the gains and challenges the former secretaries went through during their leadership, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic, to which he was also a Special Adviser.

A few former health chiefs who were not present due to several reasons such as conflict in schedule, and were out in the country, still extended their support to Secretary Herbosa.

“Health is a unifying sector and I thank my fellow health chiefs for their support in continuing the movement to provide Universal Health Care for every Filipino, anywhere, everywhere in the country. Together, we shall continue to embody the ‘OneDOH’ idea and unite towards achieving that one goal – to serve and provide our people with the quality healthcare they are entitled to. Sama-sama tayo tungo sa pagbabago at kalusugan ng lahat dahil bawat buhay ay mahalaga,” said Secretary Herbosa.