ICD-10:  The Philippine Experience


A consultant from World Health Organization (WHO), Ms. Jennifer Anne Nicole visited the Philippines in 1997 with the following main objectives:

  • To introduce the use of  ICD-10
  • To train trainers on  ICD-10
  • To advise on the strategic implementation of ICD-10  in hospitals nationwide 

In 1998, the Department of Health resolved to adopt the ICD-10 in hospitals and registries to improve existing health statistics

  • A National ICD-10 Technical Working Group was created in 1999 to formulate policies and guidelines for the effective adoption and implementation of the ICD-10 coding in the country. The TWG is composed of representatives from various agencies involved in the generation of health statistics such as DOH, National Statistics Office (NSO), Philippine Health Insurance Corporation (PHIC), Association of Philippine Medical Colleges (APMC), Association of Municipal Health Officers of the Philippines (AMHOP) and selected hospitals.
  • Organizational changes in DOH  necessitated the reconstitution of the TWG in 2003 and 2007

In 2000, DOH Administrative Order No. 47 s. 2000 was issued mandating all hospitals to implement ICD-10 coding beginning January 01, 2001. Implementation requirements include:

  • Completion of ICD-10 Training for Coders
  • ICD-10 Books
  • ICD-10 Coding

Three offices in the DOH are involved in ICD-10 implementation, namely: National Epidemiology Center (NEC), National Center for Health Facility Development (NCHFD), and Bureau of Health Facilities and Services (BHFS).  The Centers for Health Development (CHDs) which are the DOH regional offices and PHIC which is an attached agency of the DOH are also key players in the implementation of ICD-10 coding.